MinFin welcomes blacklist of tax havens


MinFin welcomes blacklist of tax havens

06. 12. 2017 14:18

Slovak Finance Minister Peter Kažimír praised the Ecofin's decision on Tuesday to compose a blacklist of tax havens and a grey list of other countries that have been put on note. The EU has named and shamed 17 countries in its first ever tax haven blacklist and put a further 47 on notice in an attempt to clamp down on tax avoidance. The following countries have been placed on the blacklist: American Samoa, Bahrain, Barbados, Grenada, Guam, South Korea, Macau, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Namibia, Palau, Panama, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia and the United Arab Emirates. Countries that have said they will make reforms, including Switzerland, Turkey and Hong Kong, were added to a so-called "grey list". The international charity Oxfam cited by the Financial Times said that if the criteria were applied to publicly available information the list should feature 35 countries including EU members Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Malta.

Anca Dragu, Photo: TASR

Livestream / Živé vysielanie